Excel Agility: Custom Views
Access this expert-led webinar instantly, available anytime on-demand.
Included in All-Access MembershipIn this presentation, Excel expert David H. Ringstrom, CPA, shares a variety of ways to automate your work in Excel by way of the Custom Views feature. David will also contrast Custom Views with the Sheet Views feature available in Excel 2021 and Excel for Microsoft 365. Both features allow you to hide or display rows and columns, as well as filter settings, by simply applying a view. Custom Views also enables you to hide and unhide worksheets. On the other hand, simply adding an Excel table to your workbook disables the Custom Views feature, whereas Sheet View does not have this limitation.
David is the author of “Microsoft Excel 365 for Dummies”, “Exploring Microsoft Excel’s Hidden Treasures”, and has written or co-authored six other books. He demonstrates every technique at least twice: first, on a PowerPoint slide with numbered steps, and second, in the subscription-based Excel for Microsoft 365. David draws your attention to any differences in Excel 2021, 2019 or 2016 during the presentation and in his detailed handouts. The handouts include an Excel workbook with most of the examples he uses during his demonstrations.
Excel for Microsoft 365 is a subscription-based product that receives periodic feature updates. Conversely, perpetual licensed versions have year numbers in their names and do not receive any feature updates.
Who should attend:
Professionals seeking to use Microsoft Excel more effectively.
Topics typically covered:
• Learning how to replace an existing custom view with new settings.
• Protecting hidden sheets from within a workbook.
• Setting a print range that includes multiple noncontiguous areas of a worksheet.
• Exploring the automation possibilities available by way of Excel’s Custom Views feature.
• Streamlining Custom Views by adding a drop-down list to Excel's Quick Access Toolbar.
• Applying different filter settings with just a couple of mouse clicks using the Custom Views feature.
• Creating custom views that will enable you to display all worksheets in a workbook at once as well as hide/display selected worksheets.
• Freezing or unfreezing worksheet panes on demand with a custom view.
• Utilizing Sheet View for workbooks saved to OneDrive or SharePoint in Excel 2021 and later.
• Applying different filter settings with just a couple of mouse clicks using the Custom Views feature.
• Understanding the conflict that the Table feature poses with Custom Views in Excel for Windows.
• Controlling large datasets efficiently by filtering instead of sorting.
Learning objectives:
• Identify the menu where the Custom Views feature resides.
• Recall which mouse action enables you to skip clicking the Show button within the Custom Views dialog box.
• Identify the limitations of the Sheet View feature.
Level: BasicFormat: Live Webcast
Instructional Method: QAS Self-Study (Traditional)
NASBA Field of Study: Computer Software & App (2 hours)
Program Prerequisites: None
Advance Preparation: No
- Introduction
- Presenting with Microsoft 365 for Windows 00:01:47
- Topics at a Glance 00:04:01
- Section 1: Introduction to Custom Views 00:06:21
- Overview of Excel's Custom Views Feature 00:06:49
- Settings Captured by Custom Views 00:21:14
- Section 2: Managing Worksheet Appearance 00:21:15
- Creating a Custom View to Unhide All Worksheets 00:22:09
- Creating a Custom View to Hide Worksheets 00:26:44
- Streamlining Workbook Appearance with Custom Views 00:29:45
- Custom Views for Multipurpose Worksheets (1/2) 00:36:11
- Custom Views for Multipurpose Worksheets (2/2) 00:40:20
- Section 3: Filtering and Table Conflicts 00:46:26
- Managing Filters with Custom Views (1/2) 00:48:02
- Managing Filters with Custom Views (2/2) 00:51:20
- Excel Tables Disable Custom Views 00:56:13
- Restoring Access to Lost Custom Views 01:03:46
- Section 4: Printing and Layout Control 01:05:32
- Managing Print Settings with Custom Views (1/2) 01:05:49
- Managing Print Settings with Custom Views (2/2) 01:2:42
- Section 5: Troubleshooting and Special Topics 01:14:43
- Protecting a Workbook 01:15:50
- Custom Views and Protected Workbooks 01:19:1:4151
- Custom Views and Protected Worksheets 01:21:41
- Sheet View (1/3) (Excel 2021+) 01:29:41
- Sheet View (1/3) (Excel 2021+) 01:35:02
- Sheet View (3/3) (Excel 2021+) 01:37:02
- What We Covered Today 01:39:04
- Now It’s Your Turn—But I’m Here If You Need Me! 01:39:55
-
David H. Ringstrom, CPA
David H. Ringstrom, CPA, is a nationally recognized instructor who leads dozens of Excel webinars each year. He is the author of Microsoft 365 Excel for Dummies and several other books. With over 30 years of consulting and teaching experience he empowers users to work more efficiently in E [...]
CPE Credit
Aurora Training Advantage is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its website: www.nasbaregistry.org.
For more information regarding administrative policies such as complaint and refund, and cancellation please contact our offices at 407-542-4317 or [email protected].
You must answer all questions during the webinar, view the recording completely and pass the test at the end with 70% correct answers to receive CPE credit.
- Cell 00:21:01, 00:27:35, 00:48:10
- Column 00:00:38, 00:09:30, 00:22:02, 00:37:30, 00:48:22, 01:06:08, 01:29:14
- Custom Views 00:00:21, 00:01:42, 00:04:18, 00:06:39, 00:08:59, 00:21:28, 00:27:36, 00:51:24, 01:03:46, 01:12:47, 01:16:03, 01:20:51, 01:30:21
- Dialog Box 00:06:34, 00:23:15, 00:27:5, 01:12:50
- Filter 00:04:55, 00:08:19, 00:46:37, 01:30:14
- Format 01:04:12
- Freeze Panes 00:14:
- Keyboard Shortcut 01:12:54
- Landscape View 00:05:42, 01:06:26
- Macros 00:59:36
- Microsoft 365 00:01:50, 01:30:05
- Page Layout Menu 01:13:40
- Page Layout View 00:47:20
- Portrait View 00:05:41, 01:05:56
- Print Titles 01:14:01
- Protect Sheet Command 01:20:46
- Ribbon 00:07:06
- Row 00:09:29, 00:37:40, 00:57:14, 01:29:15
- Sheet View 00:06:14, 01:15:44
- Slicer 00:20:54
- Table 00:47:34, 00:56:57, 01:03:55
- Table Feature 00:05:22, 00:47:44, 00:59:20, 01:15:06
- Text Box 00:20:54
- Workbook 00:00:03, 00:04:40, 00:07:25, 00:23:35, 00:27:08, 00:46:47, 00:59:11, 01:14:51
- Worksheet 00:00:46, 00:04:38, 00:08:44, 00:20:52, 00:36:16, 00:58:59, 01:05:59, 01:14:52, 01:20:22
- Zoom to Selection 00:13:27
Cell: In spreadsheet applications, a cell is a box in which you can enter a single piece of data. The data is usually text, a numeric value, or a formula. The entire spreadsheet is composed of rows and columns of cells.
Column: A column is a vertical series of cells in a chart, table, or spreadsheet in Excel.
Custom Views: This feature stores a snapshot of the hidden/visible status of columns, rows, and worksheets, along with print settings and filter settings.
Dialog Box: A dialog box in Excel is a screen where you input information and make choices about different aspects of the current worksheet or its content, such as data, charts, and graphic images.
Filter: The Filter feature in Excel allows you to show or hide rows within a list of data by making selections from drop-down lists. The Filter feature is available on the Data tab of all versions of Excel as well under the Sort & Filter command on the Home menu.
Format: When we format cells in Excel, we change the appearance of a number without changing the number itself. We can apply a number format (0.8, $0.80, 80%, etc) or other formatting (alignment, font, border, etc). By default, Excel uses the General format (no specific number format) for numbers.
Freeze Panes: This command on the View tab of Excel’s ribbon interface, or the Window menu in Excel 2003 and earlier, allows you to ensure that one or more rows and/or columns always remain on-screen as you scroll down through a worksheet.
Keyboard Shortcut: A keyboard shortcut is a series of one or several keys that invoke a software program to perform a preprogrammed action. This action may be part of the standard functionality of the operating system or application program, or it may have been written by the user in a scripting language.
Landscape View: Portrait and Landscape are the terms used for the orientation of the page in applications that deal with pages, such as Word and Excel. A page with a landscape orientation is wider than it is tall.
Macro: One or more lines of programming code that automate tasks. The Macro Recorder allows users to automate tasks without seeing the underlying programming code.
Page Layout Menu: The Page Layout Tab holds all the options that allow you to arrange your document pages just the way you want them. You can set margins, apply themes, control of page orientation and size, add sections and line breaks, display line numbers, and set paragraph indentation and lines.
Page Layout View: Page Layout View in Excel (found in the View tab or bottom-right corner) allows you to see exactly how your spreadsheet will appear when printed, acting as a real-time print preview. It enables editing of headers/footers, adjusting margins with rulers, and arranging data across pages, making it ideal for finalizing document layout.
Portrait View: Portrait and Landscape are the terms used for the orientation of the page in applications that deal with pages, such as Word and Excel. Portrait means that the page has the shorter sides at top and bottom.
Print Titles: Excel 2013's Print Titles feature enables you to print particular row and column headings on each page of the report. Print titles are important in multipage reports where the columns and rows of related data spill over to other pages that no longer show the row and column headings on the first page.
Protect Sheet Command: To prevent other users from accidentally or deliberately changing, moving, or deleting data in a worksheet, you can lock the cells on your Excel worksheet and then protect the sheet with a password.
Ribbon: The "ribbon" is the strip of buttons and icons located above the work area that was first introduced in Excel 2007. The ribbon replaces the menus and toolbars found in earlier versions of Excel. Above the ribbon are a number of tabs, such as Home, Insert, and Page Layout.
Sheet View: Sheet View in Excel is a collaboration feature that allows users to filter and sort data in shared workbooks (SharePoint/OneDrive) without disrupting others' views. It creates personalized, temporary views that keep your sorting/filtering private while allowing real-time, shared cell edits. It is ideal for teams needing to analyze large datasets simultaneously.
Slicer: You can insert slicers in Excel to quickly and easily filter pivot tables. Slicers were introduced in Excel 2010, and they make it easy to change multiple pivot tables with a single click
Slicer Feature: A visual filtering feature available with pivot tables in Excel 2010 and tables and pivot tables in Excel 2013.
Table: A table is an arrangement of data in rows and columns, or possibly in a more complex structure. Tables are widely used in communication, research, and data analysis. Tables appear in print media, handwritten notes, computer software, architectural ornamentation, traffic signs, and many other places.
Table Feature : The Table feature in Excel 2007 and later is an improvement on the List feature in Excel 2003 and earlier. The Table feature provides enhancements that make it much easier to analyze lists of data.
Text Box Feature : Available on the Insert menu of Excel 2007 and later, or the Drawing toolbar of Excel 2003 and earlier, the Text Box feature is the easiest way to place a paragraph or more of text in a spreadsheet.
Workbook: In Microsoft Excel a workbook is a collection of one or more spreadsheets, also called worksheets, in a single file.
Worksheets: A worksheet is a collection of cells where you keep and manipulate the data. Each Excel workbook can contain multiple worksheets.
Zoom to Selection: You can zoom to the current selected range of cells with a single click of the Zoom to Selection icon.
